“The work’s fixed, the time is not. You gotta get the work done.” —Dave Castro on 14.5

Posted: March 28, 2014 in Nanos, Chalk, Determination
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

1972434_684415324933662_1522535188_n

Well hello 14.5! We all knew it was going to be thrusters and burpees so really no surprise there. But now the no time limit. That’s a whole different story. 14.5 is for time. That means if you don’t finish it’s because you quit. I will not quit. Now that being said I wonder how long it will take me to do this wod! I did thursters not very long ago at 55 and they were not easy so… I guess we will see.. How do y’all feel about it? I would say my favorite thing is the burpees only because I feel like they are more mental and I’ll be able to keep throwing myself down. Now throwing that weight up over my head 80 plus times. I’m more concerned about that and I really hope I don’t run into a road block were I just can’t get it up. Fingers crossed. I’m hoping that I will be able to do this wod Sunday that way I can give my hands today and tomorrow still to heal as much as they are going to. If I am able to do that I think I will do Karen again today (150 Wallballs) Maybe that will be my Friday Wod. I’m determined to get my time under 10 minutes 😀 So until that happens it will be a regular wod. I ordered a 16lb wall ball over two weeks ago from Amazon but as of a few day’s ago it still had not shipped so we just canceled the order and I have to find a different one to order. It should not take that long to ship a idem. I think. Okay I have to get stuff done around the house and play with the baby before nap time. I would love to hear what y’all think of 14.5!!! 🙂

Comments
  1. jaypeeswife says:

    14.5 was BRUTAL, and I’m not being dramatic. There is not doubt in my mind that you will be able to finish, but come up with a game plan and attack it one rep at a time. Enjoy!!

  2. jaypeeswife says:

    14.5 was BRUTAL, and I’m not being dramatic. I did it this morning and it was probably one of the hardest WOD’s I’ve ever done. I suggest you make a game plan and attack it. There is no doubt in my mind you will finish it!!

    • boxgrl81 says:

      What was your time?? I’m nervous! I really want to finish!

      • jaypeeswife says:

        My time was 22:27. I was pretty happy with that. We did a similar workout on Monday (our Coaches had a good guess at what the workout this week would be) so I had a rough idea of how I would do. I’m not gonna lie though, the sets of 18 and 15 were NOT FUN! Once I got to the set of 9 I could finally see the light at the end of the tunnel!

  3. pvcs says:

    It’s gonna HURT!!!!! Good luck!

  4. Corrie Anne says:

    I’m going to give it a try tonight!! We’ll see! Good luck to you & have fun!

  5. j!b says:

    I’m definitely not looking forward to this one. I only started doing thrusters last week and I’m not very strong at them, so 65# is going to be a huge challenge… we’ll see how things go..

  6. Lil Mama says:

    Have a game plan for the Thrusters- try 3 descending sets like 9/7/5, 7/6/5, etc. or 3 even sets of 7/7/7,6/6/6. That will help the mental aspect. I got a decent time even breaking the thrusters from sets 18-9.

    • boxgrl81 says:

      Thats a good idea 🙂 Thank you! I’m really nervous about the weight. I’m not even sure If I have ever even tried a thruster at 65 yet. lol. I know I did 55 a week ago so I’m sure I can do it. But 55 was not easy. :/ I’m ready for this one to be done.

  7. amal7072 says:

    They managed to put together a WOD that has the two things I dislike the MOST on CF…thrusters and burpees! There are no words….
    It’s totally a mental thing, but I just so t like them. I do them…but don’t like ’em!
    Wish you much luck, my friend in CF!!!

  8. cathyo says:

    I am NOT looking forward to this one. 65# thrusters are going to be killer for me..i’ve only done a few at that weight…84 of them should be VERY interesting! I do it tonight…ahhhhh! Good luck Sunday!

    • boxgrl81 says:

      I’m doing it tonight to! I thought Sunday was a good idea untill thinking about this wod was driving me crazy! lol Just need to get in there and do it! Gooooood Luck!!! Kill it! 😉

Leave a Reply

