14.4 Done and in the books! My hand’s are not very happy! Ughh

Posted: March 24, 2014 in Nanos, Chalk, Determination
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1924972_681312438577284_1080349789_n(1)

1962875_10202827388398416_708851774_n

1969187_10202827391958505_2125936269_n

14.4 has been done and submitted and verified. It did not go 100% the way I thought it would go but I’m still happy with it. I got 97 reps and did not make it past T2B. I did have a total of 50 almost reps but I don’t care about almost reps so I got 37 good reps of T2B and now know I need to start working on them more. I wanted to get to the wall balls so bad! That is the one think I knew I could knock out not problem at all. I wouldn’t say I love wall balls but I have practiced them and done Karen (150 wallballs) enough times that I’m good at them. But it is what it is and I pretty had a very good feeling I was going to get stuck at T2B. 😦 And that’s okay. After my hands heal they will be getting practiced often! I will get kipping for them!

How did 14.4 go for ya’ll and What did you think about it? I love chippers to start with and I had no issue with the fact there was a rower or muscle ups at the end. First of all in my opinion the Muscle ups were last and if you made it that far then why not have todo those to get your score up? This is a competition to find the fittest in the world right? And I have to agree with Dave Castro that it is a basic movement of crossfit. Maybe everyone doesn’t have it but to go to regional’s I think you should have it. After you get pull ups who doesn’t start working on Muscle ups next? After knees to elbow you start trying for toes to bar. Just because you can not do it right way doesn’t make it not a basic movement. When you start crossfit I don’t think you have all the movements right away even the basic ones. I know I didn’t even have T2B until 3 months ago? Maybe 4? But it’s still a basic movement and can be scaled in a wod just like the muscle up. With the open there is no scaling and before you sign up you know this. Every workout is what it is and if you try your hardest then that’s what counts. Saying I can’t is just not part of crossfit in my opinion. There have been movements every week that I didn’t think I could do that I ended up getting PR’s with and I know without the open I would have never tried a 65lb overhead anytime soon and b/c I did 10 I know that now that there no reason I shouldn’t be doing more than a 35lb bar. I have had a great time with the open and can not wait to see how much I improve next year! And I know everyone is entitled to their own opinions and respect whatever any of y’all think πŸ™‚

Comments
  1. Corrie Anne says:

    I love chippers too, but 50 t2b is not my jam. I made it to 157 reps, but 7 full minutes of t2b!! Whomp whomp!!

    • boxgrl81 says:

      Thats Awesome!!!! πŸ™‚ t2b kicked my butt. But it’s my own fault I can do them but every-time they are in a wod I do 3 or 4 and then switch to knees to elbows 😦 B/c they are easier. I’m not going to do that anymore I don’t care how long it takes me.

  2. cathyo says:

    I thought it was a great WOD…but like you, didn’t get past toes to bar. I got 30 and I was happy with that…especially since I just figured out how to do them the Wednesday before 14.4 was announced! They are now on my things to keep working on. I kind of like them! Hope your hands heal quickly. I ripped mine a bit too, but not nearly as bad as yours.

  3. Lil Mama says:

    I like Chippers but ya TTB…blagh. I got 180 with not enough time to even attempt a muscle up.

  4. fionaboger says:

    I got 97 too! Screw T2b! Your poor poor hands! That looks so painful! Good for you for sticking it out through that!

    • boxgrl81 says:

      Good Job! πŸ™‚ I was happy with that score! And my hands they really didn’t hurt during the workout until I stopped and then the hurt sett in. lol My hands were on fire! I think the bar I was on was kinda messed up 😦 But that had nothing to do with me not being able to get all the t2b done. I need to practice them more.

Leave a Reply

