Today’s WOD- More AbMat sit ups. My butttt hates me! (11/7/2013)

Posted: November 7, 2013 in Nanos, Chalk, Determination
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

crossfit-bird

So this is the third day of Abmat sit ups. 😦 I would be okay if we didn’t do them when we did the death of card’s wod outside with no mat. That was a badddd idea. And now every day just seems to add insult to injury. Oh well. Hopefully fingers crossed after today no more for the rest of the week. lol Yesterday’s WOD sucked!!!! My time was 28:22 and I only got the time I got because one of our coaches was doing it and started his last 800 when I started mine, I started to walk for a minute and that didn’t fly he pushed me the whole run. Not a fan at the time but appreciated it after! 🙂 But wow it kicked my butt yesterday. Hopefully today goes better! I’m excited to see my new DL 1 rep max. Oh Oh Oh today also starts my 10 day count down until my Birthday!!! 😀

Today’s WOD-

Strength:
In 12 minutes, work up to a heavy single Deadlift

WOD:
12 Minute AMRAP of:
20 Hand Release Push Ups
30 AbMat Sit Ups
40 Wall Ball Shots (20/14)

Bonus:
Work on Double/Triple Unders for 10 minutes

Question of the day- If your doing a WOD and with say Overhead Squats and you can not do them without the bar pulling you backwards and losing balance- Would you A)Scale even if you already are not doing the RX still scale just a little bit more so you can do it right or B)Just switch to front squats something completely different?

Comments
  1. Val says:

    I always scale back. Unless it involves running. I will sometime switch running for the erg as I suffer from shin splints EVERY TIME I RUN! My nickname should be scale! Lol!

  2. I’d try to stick with the planned exercise but scale the weight rather than stepping back into my comfort zone (aka front squats)

  3. Leapin Lizardz says:

    I always try to stick with the planned exercise and reps and scale the weight. (Depending on how my body is feeling) When it comes to overhead squats and front squats (the ones I struggle with) I’ve used everything from weights on the bar, just the 35# bar, just the15# bar to just the PVC pipe! I figured it’s better to practice the form and movement of the thing I’m not good at with little to no weight than sacrifice form or reps for heavier weight.

  4. I never do the RX weight cuz I’m old and weak and a weenie. I do the moves in the WOD with the weight I can manage so I can learn the moves better and teach my muscles what to expect. If you keep avoiding a move, you will never get better at it.

  5. boxgrl81 says:

    I agree with y’all!!! I would not change what I should be doing I would scale unless there was some medical reason for it! I came across this the other day one of my husbands friends did this. Granted he is new to crossfit so maybe he doesn’t get really how to scale yet. He had already scaled and didn’t want to scale anymore so just switched to front squats. My husband did them him tho next time he has to scale not switch what he is doing. No one at our box likes overhead squats and most ppl have to go lighter then normal there’s no shame.

Leave a Reply

