Supplements Good or Bad? Yes or No? GO!!!!

Posted: September 19, 2013 in Just Blogging, Nanos, Chalk, Determination
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

127b64663f86a33a0b5b59e44f9612c9

My husband requested a blog about Supplements and Crossfit so I’m going to start researching it and should have it done in the next week or so. But I would love to know what y’all think! We are fairly new to crossfit and before crossfit we used Muscle Pharm for pretty much everything. We have also used other brands before Muscle Pharm but that was our favorite. Now I know that there is allot of back and forth on this subject some people think that you should use stuff and others are very against it. So I’m interested to see what I learn and what y’all think and use!

f9245f9693fb6a1b2b63edf0e3904c2c

Comments
  1. katyhancock says:

    I feel like as long as you’re giving yourself the proper foods in your daily nutrition, there’s no need for supplements.

    • As much as I would like to claim that it’s a reasonably possible for us to eat the way that our ancestors ate, and the way that our body expects us to eat, I don’t actually believe that. The biggest and most poignant examples might be organ meats & bones, bugs, and dirt. I think it’s safe to say that our body actually expects (and likely needs) us to consume quite a bit of living dirt on a fairly regular basis. Additionally, with the slaughter of animals being so far removed from our everyday experience, it’s likely very rare that any of us actually consumes things like organ meats, animal skin, or bones, cartilage, tendons/ligaments, and connective tissue. But again, I think it’s likely reasonable to assume that our digestive system expects, and utilizes the nutrients which make and are stored in those other body tissues/solids, which we don’t ever interact with anymore. And finally: bugs. I think it’s highly probable that there are specific nutrients, vitamins, and minerals that we simply don’t get anywhere other than from the bugs that we would have consumed (intentionally or incidentally) on a highly regular basis, outside of our existing food paradigm (i.e. cleaned food products, provided in a relatively sterile environment: a supermarket).
      With those examples in mind, I do take supplements, and I think most people should. But I don’t take anything “off the shelf”. I work with a functional nutritionist who uses whole-food supplements which incorporate things that I truly don’t eat elsewhere. Things like organ-meat extracts, clay, gland extracts, and some foods that I don’t often incorporate into my diet. I highly recommend finding a functional nutritionist who can work with you. And make sure that they’re not one of those people who thinks soy is a good thing!

  2. Interesting topic for sure… Such a wide range of opinions out there on this one too. I use a super clean New Zealand whey protein, cause sometimes I just need the extra in my diet, fish oil & glutamine on the really heavy weeks. I personally avoid the performance boost stuff just cause I want to find out what my body can do organically. Can’t wait to read what you find out!

  3. Teddy Nseir says:

    Nowadays, due to bad management and abuse of the soil, food is depleted of nutrients we need for basic health needs. That’s why it is really important to take supplements to balance health regimen, repair and rebuild the body by boosting the protective immune system.

  4. fionaboger says:

    I just started using BCAA’s to help muscle recovery, as I was always sore even after taking rest days! I’ll let you know how I feel about it after a week or so 🙂

  5. I only go with protein these days. Simply because the other stuff hinders me from listening to my body. My body may be saying no but the supp says yes than I am hurt. I used to mess with Anabolics back in Afghanistan. Bad idea. I am clean and have not been happier. Most of supps these days are to expensive for what they give. Protein and maybe BCAAs and you are G2G.

  6. sarah says:

    I think there’s a select few supplements that may be beneficial for us to incorporate to our already healthy, whole foods diets – but it should never be long term. It should have a specific purpose and be used in cycles. Supplements is such a huge topic!!!

Leave a Reply

